somchaij - Fotolia

Best of Citrix Synergy 2016 Awards: Rules and criteria

Get all the information you need about the Best of Citrix Synergy 2016 Awards, which will be announced May 26.

The Best of Citrix Synergy 2016 Awards will take place during the Citrix Synergy conference, May 24 to 26 in Las Vegas.

Vendors nominate their products, which will compete in the following categories:

  • Application, Data and Network Security
  • Desktop and Application Delivery
  • Desktop and Application Delivery Storage, Networking and Infrastructure
  • Enterprise Mobility
  • New Technology

A team of editors, IT professionals, and independent analysts and consultants will evaluate the nominated products, and choose winners in each category. These judges will also select a Best of Show winner.

TechTarget will announce the Best of Citrix Synergy 2016 Awards winners during a ceremony on the show floor on May 26.


For all categories except New Technology, products must be generally available and have shipped between June 2015 and May 2016. Products that are not generally available, but will ship between May 2016 and December 2016, are eligible for the New Technology category.

A vendor may nominate multiple products, but it may not nominate the same product in multiple categories. Please complete one nomination form for each product. Do not nominate a product for Best of Show; judges will choose that award winner from among the individual category winners.

All nominated products must be available on the Citrix Synergy show floor in the event a judge would like to request a demonstration. Judges will not contact all nominees directly.

Judges' decisions are final and will not be disclosed to any third party prior to the May 26 ceremony.

Email [email protected] with any questions.

Judging criteria

Judges will evaluate nominated products using the following criteria:

Ease of use: Is the product simple to install, integrate with other systems, use and manage? Are its functions clear? Can it work in heterogeneous environments?

Innovation: Does the product introduce new features, or make major improvements to existing capabilities? Does it fill a gap in the market?

Functionality and performance: Does the product actually do what the vendor says it does? Does it significantly improve operations?

Value: Is the product worth what it costs? Is its return on investment clear?

Category descriptions

Vendors should use these descriptions when choosing into which category to enter a product. Judges may move a product into a more appropriate category at their discretion.

Application, Data and Network Security: products that protect applications data or networks in cloud infrastructures, or desktop and application delivery environments.

Application and Desktop Delivery: products that virtualize desktops and applications, manage virtual desktops and applications, or provide additional capabilities for those environments; or peripherals purpose-built for virtual desktops and applications.

Desktop and Application Delivery Storage, Networking and Infrastructure: products that enhance the role of networking, storage or compute in building and maintaining cloud infrastructures, or desktop and application delivery environments.

Enterprise Mobility: products that enable mobile productivity and/or secure mobile devices, applications and content.

New Technology: products in the aforementioned categories that are not generally available, but will ship by the end of 2016.

The deadline to enter has passed.

Next Steps

Best of Citrix Synergy 2015 winners

Synergy 2015 conference coverage

Sessions of Synergy past

Dig Deeper on Citrix virtual desktops