Best of Citrix Synergy 2015 Awards: Rules and criteria

Get all the information you need about the Best of Citrix Synergy 2015 Awards, which will be announced May 14.

The Best of Citrix Synergy 2015 Awards will take place during the Citrix Synergy conference, May 12-14 in Orlando.

Vendors nominated their products, which will compete in the following categories:

  • Application and Desktop Virtualization
  • Cloud Infrastructure
  • Cloud Services
  • Enterprise Mobility Management
  • Networking
  • New Technology

A team of editors, IT professionals and independent analysts and consultants will evaluate the nominated products and choose winners in each category. These judges will also select a Best of Show winner.

TechTarget will announce the Best of Citrix Synergy 2015 Awards winners during a ceremony on the show floor Thursday, May 14.


For all categories except New Technology, products must be generally available and have shipped between June 2014 and May 2015. Products that are not generally available but will ship between May 2015 and December 2015 are eligible for the New Technology category.

A vendor may nominate multiple products, but it may not nominate the same product in multiple categories. Please complete one nomination form for each product. Do not nominate a product for Best of Show; judges will choose that award winner from among the individual category winners.

All nominated products must be available on the Citrix Synergy show floor in the event a judge would like to request a demonstration. Judges will not contact all nominees directly.

Judges' decisions are final and will not be disclosed to any third party prior to the May 14 ceremony.

Email [email protected] with any questions.

Judging criteria

Judges will evaluate nominated products using the following criteria:

Ease of use: Is the product simple to install, integrate with other systems, use and manage? Are its functions clear? Can it work in heterogeneous environments?

Innovation: Does the product introduce new features or make major improvements to existing capabilities? Does it fill a gap in the market?

Functionality and performance: Does the product actually do what the vendor says it does? Does it significantly improve operations?

Value: Is the product worth what it costs? Is its return on investment clear?

Category descriptions

Vendors should use these descriptions when choosing which category to enter a product into. Judges may move a product into a more appropriate category at their discretion.

Application and Desktop Virtualization: products that virtualize desktop operating systems and applications, manage virtual desktop and application environments or provide additional capabilities for virtual desktops and applications.

Cloud Infrastructure: products that enable organizations to build, manage and optimize private, public or hybrid cloud infrastructures.

Cloud Services: user- and developer-facing applications and platforms supplied from the cloud.

Enterprise Mobility Management: products that secure mobile devices, applications and content while enabling mobile productivity.

Networking: technologies that improve the role of networking in building and maintaining cloud infrastructures or desktop and application delivery environments.

New Technology: products in the aforementioned categories that are not generally available but will ship by the end of 2015.

Next Steps

Best of Citrix Synergy 2016: Rules and Criteria

Dig Deeper on Citrix virtual desktops